ffmpeg Telecine features

Use this forum to request features. Maybe you'll get lucky!
BernH

ffmpeg Telecine features

Post by BernH »

It would be great to have GUI/Encoder access to the telecine filters in ffmpeg for proper framerate conversions, without having to use a custom ffmpeg encoder.

And of corurse the fieldmatch, deinterlace and decimate filters for inverse telecine framerate conversions
emcodem

Re: ffmpeg Telecine features

Post by emcodem »

Hi Bern,
in ffastrans we typically don't work with ffmpeg filters but avisynth instead for this kind of usecase. This way you also don't need to use a custom ffmpeg but just a custom avisynth which makes your life somewhat easier.
To be honest, personally i have no experience at all with telecine and reverting it, just know how it works and where it is used, so i could not design a nice processor for it, additionally i don't have anything thats needed for testing the final result: some sources; reference material etc...
Maybe @admin has some more thoughts on this
emcodem, wrapping since 2009 you got the rhyme?
BernH

Post by BernH »

It is a pretty important feature in an advanced transcoding system. The most commonly used variants here in North America would be in converting between 23.976p/29.97i, and 24p/29.97i, as a lot of material is produced at 23.976p or 24p, but broadcast is 29.97i, so telecine is the correct way to convert. Other methods do not allow for reversal of the process. There is a pretty good explanation of the theory on Wikipedia if you need a reference as to what should be visible in the given frames.

I would be happy to help in evaluating this if you are inclined to pursue it. I can provide you with some sample footage, either either real or computer generated, in both 23.976 and the same footage already properly telecinied as a reference in Media Composer, although the generated variants are probably easier to see what is happening for evaluation purposes.