Check if proxy exist, before encoding.

Questions and answers on how to get the most out of FFAStrans
Post Reply
Conniver
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2023 8:32 am

Check if proxy exist, before encoding.

Post by Conniver »

Hi,

I'm trying to make a proxy generator for a Davinci Resolve workflow. (As Blackmagicdesigns own proxy generator is far to unstable).

Is there any way for FFastrans to check if a proxy exist before encoding.
I generate the proxy in a "Proxy" folder next to the source material.

\footage\
\footage\RECORDNG001.MXF
\footage\RECORDNG002.MXF
\footage\Proxy\RECORDING001.mp4
\footage\Proxy\RECORDING002.mp4

I'm trying to figure out how to use "if exist", to check if %s_original_path%\Proxy\%s_original_name%.mp4 has been created before.
And if it does, do nothing, if not, make proxy.

Any tips?

Thanks.
ThomasM
Site Admin
Posts: 227
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2017 6:36 am

Re: Check if proxy exist, before encoding.

Post by ThomasM »

Hi Conniver,

you can make use of the Functions in a ConditionalNode:

Code: Select all

IF [$exists("%s_original_drive%\footage\Proxy\%s_original_name%.mp4")] equal to (=), string [0] then
check "Dispel Job..." so that if the File already exist, the Workflow will stop.

Also check out the Wiki for further information.

cheers,
thomas
emcodem
Posts: 1652
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2018 8:11 am

Re: Check if proxy exist, before encoding.

Post by emcodem »

Perfect answer from ThomasM :D
Just adding 2 little things:
1) welcome to the forum and thank you for using FFAStrans Conniver, always good to have new faces here :D
2) checking "dispel" will not only stop the job, it will delete all logs, temp folders and job history entries for this job, so you will not see the failed job in status monitor.
emcodem, wrapping since 2009 you got the rhyme?
Conniver
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2023 8:32 am

Re: Check if proxy exist, before encoding.

Post by Conniver »

Thanks for the warm welcome and the tips, I'll try them shortly.
This software looks very promising for our use, although somewhat advanced.
Conniver
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2023 8:32 am

Re: Check if proxy exist, before encoding.

Post by Conniver »

Thanks ThomasM and emcodem, this worked just like I needed. :)
emcodem
Posts: 1652
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2018 8:11 am

Re: Check if proxy exist, before encoding.

Post by emcodem »

Congrats for getting it working! Looking forward to any other stuff we can assist with :D
Next step for you, if you need it, you can execute some other processors in the case the file does not exist using the "error" path of the workflow as explained here:
viewtopic.php?f=5&t=849#p3582
emcodem, wrapping since 2009 you got the rhyme?
Post Reply