New API call for version?

Use this forum to request features. Maybe you'll get lucky!
Post Reply
emcodem
Posts: 445
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2018 8:11 am

New API call for version?

Post by emcodem » Wed Dec 19, 2018 10:28 pm

Dear steinar,

would it be easily possible to add a version api call so i am able to determine if my API consuming code is prepared/tested for a specific version?

cheers!
Harry

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1304
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 10:39 pm

Re: New API call for version?

Post by admin » Fri Dec 21, 2018 7:50 pm

Yes of course..i think so. How you think would be the best way to implement API versioning?

-steinar

emcodem
Posts: 445
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2018 8:11 am

Re: New API call for version?

Post by emcodem » Fri Dec 21, 2018 10:17 pm

I guess that is an easy one, if you can just return a string representing the build number, e.g. the same as "Help->About FFAstrans": "0.9.4.44".
In other enterprise apps i know, this call works like a "test" call, it is the first thing that everyone who wants to use the API calls.

On the other hand, while creating the WEBUI, i noticed some strange things. I shall open another thread about stuff that makes life of API consumers hard soon...

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1304
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 10:39 pm

Re: New API call for version?

Post by admin » Sat Dec 22, 2018 6:14 am

Ok, the version will be inplemented according to your suggestion. I'm keen to know about all problems you encounter! :-)

-steinar

Post Reply