Loudness Analyzer: Measuring Loudness Range

Use this forum to request features. Maybe you'll get lucky!
Post Reply
novalis
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2016 3:01 pm

Loudness Analyzer: Measuring Loudness Range

Post by novalis » Wed May 09, 2018 8:28 am

Hi Steinar,
the loudness analyzer is a great help and it would be even better, if we could measure the third im portant parameter Loudness Range (LRA) as well. For most stations we must be within a specified range for this as well.
Additional info to LRA is provided in EBU Tech 3342 (https://tech.ebu.ch/publications/tech3342) - but it seems to be a little bit more complicated than the rest....
Thanks in advance!
Lukas

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1000
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 10:39 pm

Re: Loudness Analyzer: Measuring Loudness Range

Post by admin » Wed May 09, 2018 5:23 pm

Actually, LRA measuring, both high and low is implemented in the current "Loudness"-node but commented out in the source code. It's very easy for me to enable it if it's desirable. But at the moment, there are no inbuilt functionality to make use of the LRA measuring from within FFAStrans other than for reporting. That's why it was disabled in the 0.9.0 release.

-steinar

novalis
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2016 3:01 pm

Re: Loudness Analyzer: Measuring Loudness Range

Post by novalis » Fri May 11, 2018 6:35 pm

great! For me it would be desirable - we use the reporting to give the values to other apps or databases, so it would be great to have the LRA values, even if we can't manipulate those within FFAStrans.
Thanks a lot, Lukas

novalis
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2016 3:01 pm

Re: Loudness Analyzer: Measuring Loudness Range

Post by novalis » Thu May 31, 2018 9:35 pm

so could you activate the loudness range measurement in 0.9.2?

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1000
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 10:39 pm

Re: Loudness Analyzer: Measuring Loudness Range

Post by admin » Thu May 31, 2018 10:11 pm

Yes, I can do that:-)

-steinar

Post Reply