Error when encoding DJI phantom 4 mov files

Questions and answers on how to get the most out of FFAStrans
Post Reply
GammaScorpii
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 12:11 pm

Error when encoding DJI phantom 4 mov files

Post by GammaScorpii »

I only get this error when it's from this specific camera:

Code: Select all

Encoding failed - No moov atom found. File might be corrupt!
One time I randomly got this message too when bypassing some of the resize and fps converter nodes:

Code: Select all

 Error encoding output stream 0:0. Source video size or other media properties might be incompatible with encoder.
I've tried a standard h264 encoder node as well as the custom prores_ks one I want to use:

Code: Select all

 -profile:v 0 -pix_fmt yuv422p10le -qscale:v 9 -vendor ap10
Here's the mediainfo of one of the files:

Code: Select all

General
Complete name               : A:\Temp\DJI_0016.MOV
Format                      : MPEG-4
Format profile              : QuickTime
Codec ID                    : qt   2011.07 (qt  )
File size                   : 179 MiB
Duration                    : 16 s 0 ms
Overall bit rate mode       : Variable
Overall bit rate            : 93.8 Mb/s
Comment                     : DE=None, Mode=M

Video
ID                          : 1
Format                      : AVC
Format/Info                 : Advanced Video Codec
Format profile              : High@L5.2
Format settings             : CABAC / 1 Ref Frames
Format settings, CABAC      : Yes
Format settings, ReFrames   : 1 frame
Format settings, GOP        : M=1, N=30
Codec ID                    : avc1
Codec ID/Info               : Advanced Video Coding
Duration                    : 14 s 840 ms
Bit rate mode               : Variable
Bit rate                    : 101 Mb/s
Maximum bit rate            : 100.0 Mb/s
Width                       : 4 096 pixels
Height                      : 2 160 pixels
Display aspect ratio        : 1.896
Frame rate mode             : Constant
Frame rate                  : 50.000 FPS
Color space                 : YUV
Chroma subsampling          : 4:2:0
Bit depth                   : 8 bits
Scan type                   : Progressive
Bits/(Pixel*Frame)          : 0.228
Stream size                 : 179 MiB (100%)
Title                       : DJI.AVC
Language                    : English
Color range                 : Limited
Color primaries             : BT.709
Transfer characteristics    : BT.709
Matrix coefficients         : BT.709

Other
Type                        : meta
Duration                    : 16 s 0 ms
Default                     : No
Bit rate mode               : VBR

I don't think its a problem with ffmpeg because I tried converting it directly (although it was with another version of ffmpeg probably) and it converted just fine. Any ideas?
emcodem
Posts: 1631
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2018 8:11 am

Re: Error when encoding DJI phantom 4 mov files

Post by emcodem »

Hm, it would be good to have the complete ffmpeg output. Can you please enable "log to files" in workflow properties->Special? After that, submit the job, wait for it to finish and open the directory that was there unter "log to files". Zip all files and upload them here.

Thanks,
emcodem
emcodem, wrapping since 2009 you got the rhyme?
GammaScorpii
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 12:11 pm

Re: Error when encoding DJI phantom 4 mov files

Post by GammaScorpii »

No problem I can post something here on Monday.

Thanks!
GammaScorpii
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 12:11 pm

Re: Error when encoding DJI phantom 4 mov files

Post by GammaScorpii »

Got the logs:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/f2jad7t6mawrgfx/logs.zip


And the smallest sample clip I have (8MB) if anyone wants to test. This file and every other clip from the drone fails for me every time:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/zp881s9gv29w1 ... 8.MOV?dl=1
GammaScorpii
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 12:11 pm

SOLVED Re: Error when encoding DJI phantom 4 mov files

Post by GammaScorpii »

Just to update on this, I got it working by not using Custom ffmpeg node and instead used the ProRes AW/KS node. The problem with this node, though, is that I cannot get it to make a file with no audio tracks (like my source). For Proxy editing the file must have the same number of audio tracks to work. I've deselected Use audio in my A/V decoder node, Channel Mapper has the same problem where I cannot select 0 audio channels.

With the ProRes AW/KS node, if I select "Same as source" for discrete audio tracks, for some reason it creates a file with 32(!) channels.

If I bypass the A/V decoder, I get a mono audio channel, so not sure what to do?

EDIT:

Okay! Figured it out. If I uncheck "Video Codec" in my Custom ffmpeg node, and put the full ffmpeg command in the Options box e.g.

-an -c:v prores_ks -pix_fmt yuv422p10le -profile:v 0

It works as intended!
Last edited by GammaScorpii on Thu Mar 07, 2019 11:40 am, edited 3 times in total.
emcodem
Posts: 1631
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2018 8:11 am

Re: Error when encoding DJI phantom 4 mov files

Post by emcodem »

Sorry i missed that you sent log files, thats great!

from what i see in the log files you provided, the Settings used to encode are These:

Code: Select all

 -c:a libmp3lame  -b:a 128k  -profile:v 0 -pix_fmt yuv422p10le -qscale:v 9 -vendor ap10 
are these the settings you did input into the custom ffmpeg node?
And regarding the prores/KS node, can you please quickly export your workflow and post it here?

cheers,
emcodem
emcodem, wrapping since 2009 you got the rhyme?
GammaScorpii
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 12:11 pm

Re: Error when encoding DJI phantom 4 mov files

Post by GammaScorpii »

Hi emcodem, I solved it.

See my edit above.

Lots of playing around and testing revealed something about the "Video Codec" checkbox option in the Custom ffmpeg node. Using the full command without this for some reason fixed it for me.

Reading what you picked up from the log, it may just be that the codec checkbox, even for just video, might crash when you give it a file with no audio track (like from my drone)
emcodem
Posts: 1631
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2018 8:11 am

Re: Error when encoding DJI phantom 4 mov files

Post by emcodem »

Great stuff, congrats!
emcodem, wrapping since 2009 you got the rhyme?
Post Reply