Maybe a bug but not sure...

Here you can submit bugreports
Post Reply
momocampo
Posts: 293
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2017 12:36 pm
Location: France-Paris

Maybe a bug but not sure...

Post by momocampo » Wed Apr 03, 2019 3:51 pm

Hello,

Well, I wonder if I have a bug with the FFastrans rest service or a problem with my OS windows.
Here is the config : 2 computers; FFastrans rest service installed on each; Each computer has his own cache; FFastrans application on a NAS.
This config works great BUT sometimes the rest service stops working but windows says to me the service is started (Manage>Service>FFastrans REST-API service --> status "started").
Very weird. If I stop it or restart it, everything becomes ok again. This service stops either on computer 1 or computer 2 or both.
This computers are logged and never restart (or not often).

So, if Steinar or someone else has an idea if it is FFastrans or windows, it will be much appreciate.
I noticed the stop because the webinterface can't access to workflow any more.

Thanks for all.

Cheers.
Benjamin

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1230
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 10:39 pm

Re: Maybe a bug but not sure...

Post by admin » Wed Apr 03, 2019 8:06 pm

Hi Benjamin,

I have seen this happening. What is your OS?

-steinar

momocampo
Posts: 293
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2017 12:36 pm
Location: France-Paris

Re: Maybe a bug but not sure...

Post by momocampo » Wed Apr 03, 2019 9:49 pm

Hey Steinar,

Ok the 2 workstations are on Windows 7 pro. Precision: the service stops not always the same day or the same hour, it is just random.
Thanks
Cheers.

B.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1230
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 10:39 pm

Re: Maybe a bug but not sure...

Post by admin » Sun Apr 07, 2019 4:35 pm

I have seen this happening, particularly on older os like Win7/server2008. They seem more prone to stop working correctly. Normally it is in farming environments and it seem to be a winnt.dll issue. I suspect is has to do with executable files running directly from a network share. I'm addressing this issue in the next major release so hopefully it will be better then. In the mean time, upgrading to Win10 might help.

-steinar

momocampo
Posts: 293
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2017 12:36 pm
Location: France-Paris

Re: Maybe a bug but not sure...

Post by momocampo » Sun Apr 07, 2019 5:48 pm

Hello Steinar,
Whaouh!! impressive that you find the issue, well done.
Anyway, it's ok for me, I think I will wait the next release. Meanwhile I'm going to check often and it will be ok.
I could upgrade to win10, I must think about it.
Thnaks for all ;)

Cheers.

B.

emcodem
Posts: 289
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2018 8:11 am

Re: Maybe a bug but not sure...

Post by emcodem » Wed Apr 17, 2019 6:31 am

Hey Benjamin,

maybe i can give you a Little push on your decision for upgrading from Windows 7. Are you aware that Microsoft stops supporting Windows 7 in a few months (Jan. 14 2020) ?

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/hel ... fact-sheet

This means, from 2020 if you run Win 7 or Server 2008 and a new Virus infects them, Microsoft will not fix the Problem so all Enterprises are forced to update all their Servers and Workstations until then.

As a developer i stopped testing/supporting Windows 7 and Server 2008 in all of my programs About 1 year ago. Typically they just work on the old OS but if they don't, i don't really care About it anymore.

cheers!
Harry

momocampo
Posts: 293
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2017 12:36 pm
Location: France-Paris

Re: Maybe a bug but not sure...

Post by momocampo » Wed Apr 17, 2019 10:20 am

Hello Harry,

Yes I know but for now, we prefer stay with WIN7 because we have some problems with W10. Other raison, we have to buy licences for the 10 ;)
Thanks ;)
Cheers.
B.

Post Reply